QUEBEC SAILOR OF THE YEAR : Tyler Bjorn awarded Marin de L’année 2010
Tuesday 26 October 2010
Canadian Olympic Sailing Team member, Tyler Bjorn was awarded the Marin de L’annee, aka Sailor of the Year, trophy by the Quebec Sailing Federation. The award was presented during the Quebec Sailing Federation’s 40th Anniversary Gala at the Montreal Olympic Stadium’s funicular.
Said Bjorn : “I’m honoured to be recognized for this year’s sailing results. There is nothing more thrilling than sailing against the best sailors all over the world. Richard Clarke and I thoroughly enjoyed sailing the Star together from the first time that we tried it in 2003. We’re excited that our first year as a Star team went so well and we thank everyone, especially our families, Wind Athletes Canada and Canadian Yachting for their support. We still have a lot to learn and accomplish and we have our eyes set on the podium at 2012 Olympics.”
Bjorn, a member of the Royal St. Lawrence Yacht Club, has had a phenomenal year competing in the Star Class and in IRC racing with Canadian skipper, helmsman and tactician, Richard Clarke. Bjorn began crewing in the Star in 2003. As one of the top Star crews in Canada and North America, Bjorn put together his dream team for the 2009 Star North American Championship when he persuaded his lifelong friend, Richard Clarke, to sail with him. Clarke and Bjorn, were not only competitive through a full range of conditions, they were second in their very first regatta, which was also a continental championship.
The old friends sailed so well together that they decided to juggle Star sailing with all of their other activities throughout 2010. The campaign included P2, the second PStar ever produced. The modest campaign posted tremendous results including winning the 2010 Star Western Hemispheres in Nassau and placing third in the 2010 Star European Championship, the largest regatta in Star Class history to date.
Bjorn is a grinder on O Canada, Wind Athletes Canada’s Open 60 team that includes some of Canada’s top sailors. He also races under the IRC rule on Vela Veloce and competes among the SoCal52’s on Mayhem.